To learn about our efforts to improve the accessibility and usability of our website, please visit our Accessibility Information page. Skip to section navigation or Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.


Skip to main content
Below is an advertisement.
Guerrero named AL MVP
Vladimir Guerrero pulled ahead of a crowded field to win the American League Most Valuable Player Award. The free-swinging right fielder outclassed the others in balloting by the Baseball Writers' Association of America, receiving 21 out of a possible 28 first-place votes. More >
Bonds wins fourth straight NL MVP
Barry Bonds long ago staked his claim as one of the greatest ballplayers in history, and at times the Giants slugger seemingly can only top himself for Major League honors. He did it again on Monday, capturing his unprecedented fourth consecutive National League Most Valuable Player Award and seventh overall. More >


^ Guerrero
Player 1st Total
^ Bonds
Player 1st Total
Guerrero 21 354 Bonds 27 407
Sheffield 5 254 Beltre 6 311
Ramirez 1 238 Pujols 1 247
Ortiz 1 174 Rolen 1 226
Tejada - 123 Edmonds - 160
Santana - 117 Drew - 114
Ichiro - 98 Berkman - 100
2003 winners:   AL: Alex Rodriguez, TEX    NL: Barry Bonds, SF    All-time winners >
MVP Award: A History
In the first BBWAA election, the Most Valuable Player was actually a pitcher, Lefty Grove (far left), who went 31-4, with a 2.06 ERA in an extreme hitter's year. In an endorsement of leadership and hustle, 32 year-old Frankie Frisch took the award in the NL for his contributions to the pennant winning Cardinals' 101-win season. More>