© 2014 MLB Advanced Media, L.P. All rights reserved.

7/1/2014 12:07 P.M. ET

Davis' walk-off slam linked with Trammell's

On June 21, 1988, the Tigers took the field in the top of the first against the Yankees with Jack Morris on the hill and the ubiquitous duo of Alan Trammell at shortstop and Lou Whitaker at second. After retiring Claudell Washington and Don Mattingly to open the game, Morris then walked Dave Winfield and Jack Clark and allowed an RBI single to Mike Pagliarulo.

Detroit was then shut down in the bottom of the first by Al Leiter, who worked around two singles and a balk to get through the first without any runs crossing the plate. In the top of the second, the wheels came off for the club from the Motor City, as the Bronx Bombers used a homer and three doubles to headline a four-run inning.

By the time the Tigers came to the plate in the bottom of the ninth, the Yanks were on their second pitcher -- Neil Allen -- and held a bold 6-1 advantage. Cue the revving-up music.

Dave Bergman singled and Darrell Evans walked to knock Allen out of the game, and Dave Righetti allowed a single to Matt Nokes before getting Pat Sheridan to line out and catching Tom Brookens looking for out No. 2. Whitaker then drew a walk to plate a Tigers run, and Luis Salazar did the same, drawing Detroit to within three with the winning run -- in the form of Trammell -- coming to the plate.

Trammell, facing Cecilio Guante, worked the count to 3-2 and on the sixth pitch did something that only 18 players in history had done: hit a game-ending grand slam with his team down by three in its final at-bat.

No Tigers player had done that before, and none had done it since until Rajai Davis issued a swinging celebration to end a night that began with Detroit honoring Trammell, Whitaker, Morris and the rest of the 1984 World Series champion Tigers.

Only 28 times in history has a player hit a game-winning slam with his team trailing by three in its final at-bat.
Player Date
Roger Connor Sept. 10, 1881
Babe Ruth Sept. 24, 1925
Sammy Byrd May 23, 1936
Jack Phillips July 8, 1950
Bobby Thomson June 16, 1952
Eddie Joost July 15, 1952
Del Crandall Sept. 11, 1955
Danny Kravitz May 11, 1956
Roberto Clemente July 25, 1956
llis Burton Aug. 31, 1963
Tony Taylor Aug. 2, 1970
Carl Taylor Aug. 11, 1970
Ron Lolich April 22, 1973
Roger Freed May 1, 1979
Bo Diaz April 13, 1983
Buddy Bell Aug. 31, 1984
Phil Bradley April 13, 1985
Dick Schofield Aug. 29, 1986
Alan Trammell June 21, 1988
Chris Hoiles May 17, 1996
Brian Giles July 28, 2001
Jason Giambi May 17, 2002
Adam Dunn June 30, 2006
Brooks Conrad May 20, 2010
Travis Hafner July 7, 2011
Brian Bogusevic Aug. 16, 2011
Ryan Roberts Sept. 27, 2011
Rajai Davis June 30, 2014

Roger Schlueter is senior researcher for MLB Productions. This story was not subject to the approval of Major League Baseball or its clubs.